# **About the Authors**

## James D. Gwartney

James D. Gwartney is a Professor of Economics and the Gus A. Stavros Eminent Scholar at Florida State University. He is the co-author of *Economics: Private and Public Choice* (Cengage/South-Western Press, 2017), a widely used principles of economics text now in its 16<sup>th</sup> edition. He is also co-author of an economics primer, *Common Sense Economics: What Everyone Should Know about Wealth and Prosperity* (St. Martin's Press, 2016). His publications have appeared in both scholarly journals and popular media such as the *Wall Street Journal* and the *New York Times*. He served as Chief Economist of the Joint Economic Committee of the US Congress during 1999–2000. In 2004, he was the recipient of the Adam Smith Award of the Association of Private Enterprise Education for his contribution to the advancement of free-market ideals. He is a past President of the Southern Economic Association and the Association of Private Enterprise Education. His Ph.D. in economics is from the University of Washington.

### Robert A. Lawson

Robert Lawson holds the Jerome M. Fullinwider Centennial Chair in Economic Freedom; he is also director of the O'Neil Center for Global Markets and Freedom at the Southern Methodist University (SMU) Cox School of Business. He earned his Ph.D. and M.S. in Economics from Florida State University and his B.S. in Economics from the Honors Tutorial College at Ohio University. He has authored or co-authored over 100 journal articles, book chapters, and policy reports. With Benjamin Powell, he is co-author of the Amazon bestseller, *Socialism Sucks: Two Economists Drink Their Way through the Unfree World* (Regnery Publishing, 2019). Lawson is past-president of the Association of Private Enterprise Education, a Senior Fellow at the Fraser Institute, and a member of the Mont Pelerin Society. He was awarded the Adam Smith Award from the Association of Private Enterprise Education in 2019.

### Joshua C. Hall

Joshua C. Hall is Professor of Economics, Chair of the Department of Economics, and Director of the Center for Free Enterprise in the John Chambers College of Business and Economics at West Virginia University (WVU). He is the 2019–2020 Benedum Distinguished Scholar in Behavioral and Social Sciences at WVU, the University's highest research award. He earned his bachelor and master degrees in Economics from Ohio University and his Ph.D. from West Virginia University in 2007. Hall is a past president of the Association of Private Enterprise Education and also a Senior Fellow at the Fraser Institute. He is author or co-author of over 125 articles in journals such as *Public Choice, Economic Inquiry, Contemporary Economic Policy, Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, Southern Economic Journal*, and *Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory*.

## Ryan Murphy

Ryan Murphy is a Senior Research Fellow at the O'Neil Center for Global Markets and Freedom at the Southern Methodist University (SMU) Cox School of Business. He received his B.A. in Economics from Boston College and M.S. and Ph.D. in Economics from Suffolk University. His research has appeared in publications such as the *American Journal of Agricultural Economics, Public Choice, Public Health, Rationality & Society,* and *Contemporary Economic Policy*. He is the author of *Markets against Modernity: Ecological Irrationality, Public and Private* (Rowman & Littlefield, 2019).

# **About the Contributors**

## Niclas Berggren

Niclas Berggren is an Associate Professor of Economics at the Research Institute of Industrial Economics (IFN) in Stockholm, Sweden, and in the Department of Economics (KEKE NF) at the University of Economics in Prague, Czech Republic. He received his Ph.D. and the title of Associate Professor from the Stockholm School of Economics. His research is primarily in constitutional, institutional, and cultural economics, not least using the index published in *Economc Freedom of the World* to pinpoint the determinants and consequences of market-oriented institutions. He has published about 50 articles in journals such as the *Journal of Public Economics*, *Public Choice*, the *Journal of Institutional Economics*, the *European Journal of Political Economy*, and the *Journal of Economic Behavior & Organization*.

#### Fred McMahon

Fred McMahon is a Fraser Institute Resident Fellow and holder of the Dr. Michael A. Walker Research Chair in Economic Freedom. He has an M.A. in Economics from McGill University. Mr. McMahon manages the Economic Freedom of the World Project and the Economic Freedom Network, an international alliance of over 100 think-tank partners in about 100 nations and territories. He is the author of numerous research articles and several books including, *Looking the Gift Horse in the Mouth: The Impact of Federal Transfers on Atlantic Canada*, which won the Sir Antony Fisher International Memorial Award for advancing public-policy debate, *Road to Growth: How Lagging Economies Become Prosperous*, and *Retreat from Growth: Atlantic Canada and the Negative Sum Economy*. He has written for numerous publications including the *European Journal of Political Economy*, *SAIS Journal* (School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University), *Wall Street Journal*, *Policy Options*, *National Post*, *Time* (Canada), *Globe and Mail*, *Ottawa Citizen*, and most other major Canadian newspapers.

### Therese Nilsson

Therese Nilsson is an Associate Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics at Lund University in Lund, Sweden, and at the Research Institute of Industrial Economics (IFN) in Stockholm, Sweden. She obtained her Ph.D. and the title of Associate Professor from Lund University. Her research is oriented towards institutions, income inequality, globalization, tolerance, and health, and she has published in journals such as the *Journal of the European Economic Association*, *Social Science & Medicine*, *Economic Policy*, the *Journal of Comparative Economics*, *World Development*, and the *Journal of Health Economics*.

# **Acknowledgments**

As always, we are grateful for the leadership and enduring support of the Fraser Institute, its president Niels Veldhuis, executive vice-president Jason Clemens, and our long-time partner and friend Fred McMahon, who holds the Institute's Dr. Michael A. Walker Research Chair in Economic Freedom. Without the assistance and guidance of both Michael Walker, co-founder of the Fraser Institute, and the late Milton Friedman, this project would never have gotten off the ground.

The too-numerous-to-name members of the Economic Freedom Network again provided valuable support for this report. Our thanks also go to Kathy Makinen of Florida State University for research assistance.

We thank the Charles Koch Foundation and the Searle Freedom Trust for their financial support.

James Gwartney, Robert Lawson, Joshua Hall & Ryan Murphy